The Water Quality Association is proud to announce the results of its annual board election and awards ceremony, which took place in late March during WQA Aquatech USA, the Association’s annual convention and exposition.

 Nine members were elected to WQA’s board of directors. In the Dealer membership class, the members elected Ronald Edwards, CWS-III of Hague Quality Water of Maryland (Annapolis, MD), Thomas Harrington of DS Services of America, Inc. (Atlanta, GA), Donald K. McGhee, CWS-VI of Hydro Systems, Inc. (Harlingen, TX), andMichael J. McGowan, CWS-IV of McGowan Water Conditioning, Inc. (Mankato, MN).Frank A. Brigano, Ph.D. of KX Technologies LLC (West Haven, CT), Scott Clawsonof Culligan International Company (Rosemont, IL), and Stephen Ver Strat of Access Business Group, LLC (Ada, MI) were elected to seats in the Manufacturer/Supplier membership class. The members also elected Robert Maisner of Paragon Water Systems (Tampa, FL) and Cedella Beazley of Dow Water and Process Solutions (Edina, MN) to seats in the Retail and Commercial/Industrial classes respectfully.

A special election was held to replace former WQA director Andrew Kilkenny, who stepped down last year. Knut Sauerbier of Brita GmbH (Taunusstein, Germany) was selected by the board of directors to fill the seat, representing the Retail membership class.


2014-2014 Board President Sam Karge, on left, accepts the gavel from 2013-2014 Board President Richard Mest.

The executive committee of the board of governors for 2014-2015 was also announced. Douglas S. “Sam” Kargeof Pentair (Milwaukee, WI) is the new president and Bret P. Tangley, CWS-VI of Sterling Water, Inc., DBA Culligan of Eau Claire (Eau Claire, WI) is the vice-president. Robert Maisner will serve as secretary and Donald K. McGhee, CWS-VI will serve as treasurer. The three governors-at-large are Cedella Beazley of Dow Water & Process Solutions (Edina, MN),Thomas Harrington, and Chris Wilkerof EcoWater Systems LLC (Woodbury, MN). Immediate Past PresidentRichard Mest of Master Water Conditioning Corp (Pottstown, PA) rounds out the board of governors. 

WQA awarded key honors to 13 individuals during the Opening General Session. The Lifetime Member Award, given for exemplary service to the Water Quality Association, was presented to Robert Slovak of AROMAN Incorporated (Incline Village, NV). The Hall of Fame Award, given for lifetime dedication and service to the water quality improvement industry, was presented to Charles “Chubb” Michaud, CWS-VI of Systematix Company (Buena Park, CA).


The Honorary Membership Award, given in recognition of meritorious research, education or exemplary service, was presented to Assembly Member Luis Alejo (D-Salinas), who represents California’s 30th District. The Ray Cross Award, given in recognition of a pioneer spirit and unwavering commitment to the industry, was presented to Donald K. McGhee, CWS-VI of Hydro Systems, Inc. (Harlingen, TX). The Regents Award, given in recognition of significant contributions at the state or local level on issues affecting the industry, was presented to William Maher, CWS-VI, CI of Maher Water Corporation (Stevens Point, WI). The Key Award, for demonstrating the highest qualities of leadership, was presented to Keith Brown of Kinetico Incorporated (Newbury, OH). Awards of Merit, given in recognition of exceptional service to the water quality improvement industry, were presented to Dave Averbeck of Pentair (Milwaukee, WI), Bob Curtis of Clack Corporation (Santa Fe Springs, CA) and Ellery “Al” Horn of Clearwater Systems (Akron, OH). The International Award of Merit went to Knut Sauerbier.

Charles “Chubb” Michaud addresses his fellow WQA members after receiving the prestigious Hall of Fame Award.


Ten WQA members were recognized for their recruitment efforts with induction into the

President’s Club. They included Kate Cline ofWater Quality Products and Water & Wastes Digest(Arlington Heights, IL); Cindy Gresham, CWS-I of Thermax, Inc. (Northville, MI); Kurt Gruett, CWS-I of Water-Right, Inc. (Appleton, WI); Douglas C. Haring, CWS-VI, CI, CSR of Pentair (Milwaukee, WI); Denise Heskett-Al-Kharusy, CWS-VI of KDF Fluid Treatment, Inc. (Three Rivers, MI); Bruce Stump of Filbur Manufacturing (Buena Park, CA);Shawn Talley of Pentair (Parrish, FL); Michael Urbans, CWS-III of Res-Kem General Water (Aston, PA); Peter Waelti, CWS-I of RainSoft of Denver (Thornton, CO); and Chris Wilker. With 11 new members recruited, Wilker was also honored with the Bill Peltier Memorial Award, which recognizes WQA’s top recruiter for the year. The Quality Circle Award, for recruiting 30 new members into the Association over a lifetime, was presented toEdward P. “Ted” Jones, CWS-VI of Kinetico Incorporated (Carmichael, CA). The Platinum Recruitment Award for recruiting 75 new members into the Association over a lifetime was presented toJoanne Grace from Victoria, TX.


Two teams shared honors for recruiting the greatest number of new members as a group. The first consisted of Denise Heskett-Al-Kharusy, CWS-VIBuzz Goldstein, CWS-V of Charger Water Treatment Products LLC (Elgin, IL); Guillermo Guzman of H2O International, Inc. (Deerfield Beach, FL); Nicole Reisdorfer of Allied Purchasing Company (Mason City, IA); Bruce Stump; and Wilber Vickers of Driesen Water Inc. DBA Culligan Water of Indianapolis (Indianapolis, IN). The second winning team consisted of Chris WilkerKelly Johnson, CWS-II of Quality Water Services (Ponca City, OK) and Dar Watts, CWS-V of SEAS Capital Partners (Plymouth, MI).